3 Comments

Another Opportunity

Hello folks,

Last week I ventured out and wrote about my experience with “Chemo Brain.”  Thanks to Erik and Dr. P for their support and feedback.  I thought I’d make another attempt to share a bit more of my experiences during this precious period in my life. 

I stated I was pissed about receiving the news about the malignancy, but  I didn’t share that I was feeling overwhelmed when I received the news.  I was taking a full load in summer school and working five days per week, in a very stressful job.  Thank God I did not have a family to consider and that there was an insurance plan and income to help during this new discovery and journey.

I will not categorize the news as “bad” because I recognize more and more each day how situations can always be worse than they are.  This was another opportunity for me look at where I was, what I was doing and give thanks for things being as well as they are.  Mind you, it took me a moment  to get here, but I have arrived at that state of mind where I can honestly say that I am grateful for this opportunity.  

 The way I see it is that life is to be lived and each occurrence, incidence, situation, happenstance are all orchestrated for another opportunity for me to grow, and share my experiences, strength and hope with someone else.  These opportunities are for me to use as tools to encourage others.    

Though I am still on this path of recuperation, I am looking forward to a positive end.  I see the healing of my body and a full recovery.   This life is short but it can be so fulfilling.  I look forward to broadening my horizons and as I recently read one blogger’s words, ‘living my life out loud.’ This is the beginning of ‘living my life out loud.’

3 comments on “Another Opportunity

  1. Part of what you are describing is also the element of staying in the present. Even when the present isn’t very much fun (there’s an understatement), there are still things to learn by not avoiding it. And what we learn as social workers is that when we avoid the present we typically have to deal with the repercussions in the future.

    One of my favorite sayings in my life is “sometimes the only way out is through.” Good post.

  2. How important it is to admit when you are pissed off… been that way quite a bit in my life at a situation, circumstance and other things… Always managed to get over it and on with my life pretty quickly… Yes this challenge is for a bigger purpose in your life. I watched you grow and become during this time and love what I see and hear and even those things you don’t say and when you want to cry out but don’t. I know you are healing from the inside out and accepting those things you know can’t change and accepting the truth that change is taking place…

    One thing I know for sure is that you are a beautiful person who honestly cares about the people and the world we live in and continue to give in this way. And the Spirit gives back that which you have given in the form of what you need which is a healing in your spirit, mind and body….

Leave a Reply

