Leave a comment

To be continued…….

It’s been 7 months since I was told that I had metastatic breast cancerStage 2A to be exact about the type.  I am still somewhat in what I call “a catatonic state of being.”  Sometimes I feel like I’m just going through the motions, no emotions, no concrete thoughts, no sadness even.  I can only remember crying once during this ordeal…. and I’m a crybaby. 

There are people in my life that have reminded me that I must remember to rest, think positive, remember that my health is more important than anything, and be thankful for things are as well as they are, and rest some more.  Well, as far as I’m concerned it’s been long enough. I’m ready to get on with my life, get back to my normal way of being. I want to feel more energetic and not fatigued.  I’m ready to get back to that 16 to 18 hour day, that I thought I was accomplishing so much in.  

But, according to my oncologist, it’s going to take some time to get back into the swing of things.  I’m kicking and screaming in my mind, but my heart knows this is what I need. The truth is that I am just at the beginning of realizing the benefits of this experience.   This experience was really an opportunity for me to take a look at what’s really important in life. 

Resting, being thankful, practicing a healthy lifestyle, and resting more are very important to living a full, balanced, abundant and quality filled life.  I decided to become a Social Worker because I have this desire to inspire others.  Working through this experience will prepare me for my work with others. And hopefully by sharing my experience, strength and hope with others I will satisfy that pull within to inspire.  

As I share parts of my experience and  journey I feel myself beginning to understand, appreciate, and make the connection I need to make to inspire.  

To be continued………

Leave a Reply

